top of page

CTJ Places 15 for TMEA All-State

The Claudia Taylor Johnson Band had 15 members earn chairs in the Texas Music Educators Association All-State Bands for 2021.

It was the third year in a row for Johnson having all-state band members in double digits, and the most of any school in NEISD. CTJ had 16 make the all-state band in 2019 and 11 in 2020.

Tommy Brennan (euphonium) was named to his fourth TMEA All-State Band, while Jake Glaser (Bb clarinet) and Preston Payne (trombone) were named to their third. It's the second appearance for Dylan Davidson, Kadence Koehl, and Brenna Mitchell.

The 15 making TMEA All-State Band for 2021 (the number of times making All-State is in parentheses):

  • Sebastian Becerra, junior — Baritone Saxophone

  • Matthew Blackwell, junior — Contrabassoon

  • Tommy Brennan, senior — Euphonium (4)

  • Catherine Chambers, senior — Horn

  • Dylan Davidson, senior — Bass Trombone (2)

  • Jake Glaser, junior — Bb Clarinet (3)

  • Kaitlyn Hawkins, junior — Piccolo

  • Kadence Koehl, senior — Trumpet (2)

  • Joshua Kraly, senior — Tuba

  • Brenna Mitchell, senior — Contrabassoon (2)

  • Robert Mullen, senior — Tuba

  • Preston Payne, senior — Trombone (3)

  • Bella Perez, junior — Bassoon

  • Alejandro San Miguel, senior — Baritone Saxophone

  • Aiden Souder, junior — Trumpet

Fifty-nine Johnson band members have earned 92 chairs in the TMEA All-State bands in the school’s 13-year history.

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page